FO: Two in one week? Could it be?

FO: The Meret

First you saw the little baby hat.  Now, I present you with my hat! I’m actually quite thrilled that I managed to complete two whole projects, never mind how small, in just one week. I think I’ve found the knitting bug again.

This is also the first project where I did not mess up the pattern. Okay, so the brim is huge, but I followed all directions just right. When I put on the hat, it hangs 2-3 inches from the bottom of my head. You might be thinking, but it looks so small in the picture! I actually cheated. So as to show the design better, I folded in a couple of inches so it wouldn’t be so formless.

In case you’re wondering, this is the Meret (Mystery Beret) by Woolly Wormhead. It is such an easy pattern to work with. The designer created a pattern that is really simple to follow. My favourite part is it is presented both in chart form and written out. So, however you like to read it, you can.

The thing is, I think I have a smaller head than I was once led to believe. Either that or I’m just really bad with brims! I did the gauge swatch and everything, which if you know me, you know I hate to do and usually don’t. I aimed for the large, as I’ve always had to buy the larger size hat. Knit the way I did, I’m thinking I could’ve done the small and easily have gotten away with it.

Oh well. Maybe round 2? It only took me two days to make this hat. Perhaps I could try again and see if I could make it smaller. In the meantime, I can put this in the charity box to give away in the holidays. It’s bound to fit someone.

Ready for the weekend? I have no plans, really. And thank goodness! I plan to knit away the hours. What are your plans?

3 thoughts on “FO: Two in one week? Could it be?

  1. Adorable hat and I love the colorway, what’s the yarn you used (if you don’t mind sharing.)I have similar issues with brims on handmade hats vs. store bought ones. I wonder if the difference comes from the machine knit versus the hand knit. Great job and congrats on the two in one week.

Comments are closed.