More baby knits on the way!

Finished baby hat

Not long ago, my husband and I found out we were going to get a new niece/nephew at the start of 2013. I’ve been so very excited ever since. I have two nieces and a nephew so far, and I absolutely adore them. Now I knit, too, so some serious spoiling is about to take place.

I made the hat in the above picture initially from a stocking hat pattern; you know, the ones with the really long tails that look like out of The Night Before Christmas. I got to about halfway up the crown when something horrible happened. Due to copyright infringements that the designer had suffered, she pulled her pattern. Understandable. I completely get why she wanted to protect her and her friend’s work (her friend had done the photography). Alas, this left me not even halfway done. So I improvised and made a short hat instead. Now, I have a baby to send it to, too!

My sister-in-law suggested I knit a baby blanket for new baby W. I’m seriously considering it. I know, I know. Miss Ana, you’ve done nothing but complain during your large projects. Do you really want to start another one? In this case, kind of. It’s for a very special baby, and I do well on my large projects when it’s for someone other than me. I also have a deadline. It will need to be mailed (with the stockings! I haven’t forgotten) in time to get to England for Christmas. It’s not a tight deadline, but it’s not forgiving either. That will help.

So, now, of course, I’m sifting through the many lovely baby blanket patterns on Ravelry and around the web to find the perfect one. This is one of the toughest parts! If I’m honest, it’s also the best part.

How do you choose the perfect pattern for the project in your head?

Before I sign off, I wanted to give a quick shout-out to martasdgp. She awarded my blog the Versatile Blogger Award. I would like to formerly thank her so very much. I also highly recommend checking out her blog, Domestic Goddess Project.  Because I’ve done this once before, I am going to opt out of full participation, but I really wanted to acknowledge her for her kindness.

2 thoughts on “More baby knits on the way!

  1. Adorable hat by the way. In terms of baby blankets, I have had some pretty good success with the bias blanket listed on ravelry (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bias-blanket) It knits up quick and provides a nice little change from just a straight back and forth. To spark my creativity I might start with the yarn I am thinking of using and search via the patterns made by others, or throw caution to the wind and just pick a section and tweak the parameters. Best of luck and congrats on the new niece or nephew.

Comments are closed.