Knitting in the Heat

Last night when I got home from going with my brothers to see Rock of Ages (third time, yes!), I walked into a miserable house. Husband had turned off the air conditioner when he left for work, and by the time I was home, the house had reached 90 degrees. 90 degrees! This is one of those moments when I muttered (and always do), “I hate Texas.”

This is the kind of weather I hate most, and I hate to admit to myself that it has only just begun. I still have to get through July and August, perhaps even September, before there is any kind of relief. This isn’t curl up with your knitting weather. It’s walk around in your bathing suit in the house and hope you don’t die of heat exhaustion weather.

But I’m still a knitter at heart. What’s a girl to do?

Luckily, knitting is no longer just a winter/pleasant weather activity. Sure, sitting in the heat with a wool blanket on your lap is horrible right now, but there are plenty of projects you can still work on and plenty of light-weight yarns to choose from.

Some projects you might look into could be lacy shawls, market bags, tank tops, and fingerless mitts. You might be thinking, “Hey, aren’t fingerless mitts better for winter?” That’s true. Unless, of course, you live in Texas, where the air conditioning gets turned on to full blast. I like it cold, but even here it can be too chilly for me indoors in the summer.

I would recommend going for plant-based yarns in the summertime. Animal-based yarns tend to retain their heat, as most comes from animals that need to stay warm for some reason or another. Plant-based tends to cool the body; think of why you wear cotton during the summer months. Cotton, though, can be a little ropey and hard to work with, so do some research and test-feel a bunch of yarns before you commit. I really like bamboo because it’s soft and squishy, but it is usually too expensive for me to work with very often.

For my summer project, I am working on the lace shawl I have been showing on here. Lace is great for summer knitting. The holes allow for a lot of airflow, so you won’t overheat too quickly. Plus, I just find lace is a lot of fun to do. I haven’t tried a market bag yet, but I have been thinking about it a lot lately, especially as I have become more conscious of our extensive plastic bag use.

What are your summer projects?

2 thoughts on “Knitting in the Heat

  1. While I don’t live in Texas, I do suffer through the Midwest summers, thank goodness for air conditioning! I tend to cast on socks and other small portable projects. I think lace is a great idea for summer knitting, thanks for the great post!

Comments are closed.