Week Three: All Caught Up

Sometimes it helps to go old fashioned: Pencil and Paper

I honestly did not think it was going to happen. By the end of last weekend, I was 12,000 words behind. It seemed absolutely impossible. Somehow, I dug deep into my creativity and managed to pull through. Now, I am only a couple of hundred words behind, which I hope to make up today.

Week Three tends to be the catch-up week. In the first week, it’s easy to go strong and let the creativity fly. You are at the beginning of the story with nothing but promise ahead. By week two, you realise that this has to have some kind of plot. Where are you going with all this? This indecision and waiting for that muse who kicked you in the butt the week before cause a lot of writers (this one included!) to fall behind.

In week three, the main thing to focus on is catching back up. Once you hit the downward slope of your story, you will find it starts to speed up again. Meeting your word count goals no longer seems as daunting. It’s like getting to Wednesday. Once you are past hump day, you’re good.

I would say my story feels something like a disaster, but that would be an understatement. I went in to this with a clear idea of where I was starting and where I wanted to end up. Guess what? My character got sick. He was never meant to get sick. Rather than unleashing an entire epidemic on the population, I focused on his programming, blamed the illness on something not biological. That was great, until he got shot. Twice. Man! What have I done?

This is one of the problems of letting your creativity loose. You never know where it’s going to take you. Of course, that’s also the fun of it. I’m not bored with this process because I never know where I am going to end up. My best laid plans tend to crumble and something even better (though not better written; this is still just a rough draft) comes out.

So, my character has somehow healed himself almost instantly after the wounds. He doesn’t seem to be human anymore. This dystopian has turned into even more sci-fi than expected. Now I have to figure out what he is and how it is going to affect the rest of the story.

Are we having fun yet?

