The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

I have a new-ish obsession that I would like to share with you. Well, not really that new; I’ve been hooked for a couple of weeks now. Anyway, it’s the YouTube Vlog called The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

I am not really one of those girls who loved Jane Austen. I really tried to like her books, and every once in a while, I give it another go, thinking I’ll like it now. The only one of her books I ever finished was Northanger Abbey, and that was only because it was for class. My mom, on the other hand, is obsessed with the story Pride and Prejudice. I don’t know if she’s read the book, but I can be fairly confident in saying that she has seen nearly every adaptation of this book in film, including Bride and Prejudice (which I secretly kind of enjoyed).

And yet! I am completely hooked on The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. This vlog is a modern adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Each Tuesday and Thursday, Lizzie posts a video to catch you up on what has been going on in her life recently. Much of this centres around the plot of the book, though Wickham, for example, is not a soldier but a swim team coach. Overall, I really enjoy it, and the regular characters (Charlotte, Jane, Lizzie, and Lydia) are so much fun.

The video above is Episode 1: My Name is Lizzie Bennet to get you started. I highly recommend subscribing to The Lizzie Bennet Diaries vlog if you end up really loving this, like me. Then you won’t miss a thing!

One thought on “The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

  1. Haha! What a great video! I have never read Jane Austen. I had such a hard time with Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights that I have never ventured back into the classics, but I love the story of Pride and Prejudice when it is on the TV in plain English in front of me!
    I will definitely subscribe to this. I already love Charlotte!

Comments are closed.