Crafternoon in June: T-Shirt Scarves

T-shirt Scarves

What a weekend! I certainly did anything I thought might be fun or make me smile, and I succeeded for the most part. On Friday, a group of friends and I got together and had a small crafternoon gathering. Nothing big or fancy, just us and some crafting supplies.

Every once in a while, my friends and I get together to do a crafternoon. We’ve been doing this for years. It all started in the back room of the movie theatre we worked at together. We decided one summer that we wanted to do themed movie showings and go dressed up. The first crafternoon was a jewellery making one, where we all made “hippy” necklaces. Another one I remember was for the The X Files: I Want to Believe, for which we dressed up in tin foil. Other times, we would go to Walmart and pick up cheap painting supplies and paint on canvas or on wooden toys. We just had a lot of fun.

Braiding the strips together

This crafternoon project was t-shirt scarves/necklaces. It’s one of the simplest crafts I know, and after trying to teach them to crochet (I used to be pretty good with the basics, but now I’m rubbish) and failing, I opted for simple. We all brought t-shirts, and my brother Josh and I went to Michael’s to pick up a new rotary wheel, which I’m in love with, and a cutting board, since we forgot mine at the house.

My brother watching as our friend cuts her pieces of t-shirts into long strips

Now, you’re supposed to have a whole t-shirt for this project, and one of my friends just brought pieces of a shirt. Luckily, with a little creativity, we … I mean Frances (her crafting alter ego, which happens to be me) was able to pull together a decent looking scarf in the end anyway. Frances might have helped a couple of others with their projects too, but she’s not spilling.

Must have been Frances!

 

Here’s what you need:

A t-shirt

A rotary wheel (You can use scissors, but your hands will tire out very quickly.)

A cutting board

 

Here’s how we did it:

1. Lay your t-shirt on a cutting board (I know that’s not the right term, but I’m at a loss this morning) and fold it in half. Smooth out all of the wrinkles.

2. With the rotary wheel, cut off the bottom hem. You won’t need this, so toss it to the side.

3. Moving up the body of the t-shirt, cut 1/2 inch strips. They should be loops as you’re cutting through both sides at once. Cut one piece so it’s no longer a loop.

4. When you have all your strips, stretch each strip one at a time until it looks like spaghetti. Don’t be afraid to really have at it.

5. Decide how long you want the scarf to be. I usually double it up (like a long necklace). Then, wrap the spare non-loop piece around your bundle of t-shirt loops to hold everything in place. You can tack it if you like, or just tie a really tight knot.

 

If you haven’t tried this craft before, I highly recommend it. It’s very very easy to do.

Here are my tricks:

1. Do not use a stretchy t-shirt. You would think that because you’re stretching the fabric, a stretchy one would be handy. The problem is stretchy bounces back.

2. Do not get too worked up if your strips are uneven. Once you stretch it out into spaghetti, it will be hard to notice.

3. Do not be afraid to really have at those strips. They will hold up for the most part. Any that don’t can be used for other projects, like finger knitting a bracelet.

 

What did you do this weekend?

45 thoughts on “Crafternoon in June: T-Shirt Scarves

  1. “Crafternoon” just might be my new favorite word. And I’m ALL about the concept behind it. So, I just might need to pull some friends together to start this tradition, too. Your t-shirt scarves turned out great. That’s one project on my crafty to do list.

    (Thanks for the follow! So glad to have found your lovely blog.)

  2. A crafternoon sounds like a great idea. I have been planning to have something similar with my friends when the weather cools down a bit and now I know what to call it! Thanks for posting! (and for liking my post) πŸ™‚

  3. wow! Who doesn’t have old t-shirts to repurpose!? And, I really like the “crafternoon” idea. Looking forward to seeing what else you are up to.

  4. crafternoon! sounds really cool! i live in NM in a teeny tiny town close to Santa Fe – can i have your permission to suggest a “crafternoon” in one of girlfriend meetups? that is so creative! have you done any with ppl bringing in different projects and just enjoying each others’ company over cookies and tea or coffee? i love the idea especially since i am a night owl. i work from home and take all morning to wake up LOL

  5. Hi, thank you for dropping by and liking the thefetes post with the flip flotsam vid!
    We crafternoon for our school fete and our local neighbourhood has a craft group which meets about once a month – not for a crafternoon but a more drinkies-friendly, kids-in-bed evening craft, with a glass of wine and a good natter!

  6. I do a crafternoon with some friends too! Such a great way to spend an afternoon and share ideas! Thanks for checking out my blog at cedarknits.wordpress.com – come back again soon πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you dropping by my blog. I think knitting is great; but my daughter is the great knitter in my family. Your scarves look fun and it looks like you have a great support for knitting.

  8. What a totally inspirational blog, and it certainly gets my word of the day vote! Crafternoon – just brilliant.

    Thanks for visiting my blog – Time to take on Guerrilla Knitting. I was so pleased to discover yours in return.

    Keep on crafting!
    Invisible one xx

  9. Pingback: Got some old T-Shirts | Eco-Crap

  10. An afternoon crafting with friends! Dreamy. And I love the scarves. After a winter of wool I am finding soft cotton so welcome. I will have to try these.

Comments are closed.