Dear Mom and Dad,

Camp is once again not going so well. After a tough week when I couldn’t summon any creative energy, I am now just under 8000 words behind. Ooftah! That’s all I can really say to that. Then again, it’s better than yesterday, when I was around 12,000 words behind.

This happens to me every year. Well, not under the same circumstances, but still. I found myself from Friday until Wednesday utterly unable to draw out any kind of imagination. It just wasn’t happening. I began to wonder if I should just quit and try again in August. I’m still not entirely sure if that’s not a bad idea.

Like everything this week, it’s been slow-go. I’ve completed maybe 3 rows on the shawl. I haven’t read a book since March/April, though I keep trying. There’s so much to do now and not enough time or energy to get it all done. I was very overwhelmed the first half of this week.

But then, on Wednesday evening, my imagination returned. I started to daydream into my story, which I hadn’t done in nearly a week at that point. I’m slowly starting to get it again.

So where am I in the story? Lost. I did come up with an idea last night, which I think will help my word count. I’m going to move toward third person omniscient. I had been settled on third person limited, but the story had trouble moving forward. My main character is completely unaware of the real mechanisms of the world he lives in. He’s almost robotic. It’s up to my other characters to create the world and drive the story. After all, my story centres around first what they do to him (is cutting him loose from a slavery-like system a blessing or will it lead to the damnation of the city?) and then, well, I don’t know. I’m still working on that.

The problem is, I know exactly where I want the story to go in the end. I just think this might have to be a two-parter. I will write this first part this month and then get to editing in July. Then, we’ll see in August if I feel up to tackling the second part or if I want to wait until November and recuperate a little bit.

How are your stories going? If you’re not doing Camp NaNoWriMo, what are you working on? I’d love to hear about it!

