Madelinetosh: Tosh Sock Yarn

The shawl is real starting to turn out, despite my many mistakes along the way. I’m getting very close to the end of the first round of the new section. I’m so excited to see how it turns out!

I wanted to talk a little bit about the yarn I’m using instead of the shawl this time, though. I’m working with Madelinetosh’s Tosh Sock Yarn in the colour Tart. My brother bought the yarn for me for a birthday present from Madtosh, a store in Fort Worth. Each hank is about 395 yards and is 100% superwash merino wool.

Here’s what I like about it so far: The colour is so lovely. I really enjoy the variations of red throughout the yarn. I’m never working with quite the same shade with each stitch. It gives the shawl a interesting look that I’m really loving. The yarn is also fairly soft, but not excessively so. I think the shawl will be airy but a little cozy with this yarn.

What I’m not too fond of: I don’t know if it’s superwash yarn in general or what, but the yarn feels very ropey in my hands. It tightens around my finger while I’m throwing it over my needle, so I have to be very careful that my gauge doesn’t get thrown off. I found this to be particularly difficult for the all-purling rounds. I think I’m getting the hang of it, though.

I haven’t tried washing a swatch yet, so I don’t know how the yarn will react to washing. My plan for the shawl is to hand wash it for now. I’ll knit up a swatch for the project that will use up the second hank of Tosh Sock and then experiment with washing techniques. It’d be good to know if the yarn would hold up or not.

If I had the budget for it, I would buy this yarn again. However, Madelinetosh yarn is expensive, and rightly so. You get what you pay for, and my limited experience with this brand of yarn is that this is quality. I may have to save it for special gifts or add it to a Christmas/birthday wish list for others to get me.

Quick side note, little off topic: My mother wore her new shawl to church last Sunday and received compliments! One lady, the one who passed down her extensive acrylic yarn collection to me a couple years ago, said it looked professional. I don’t know if I’d call it that, but it was certainly a lovely thing to hear about, especially with the not so great last couple of weeks.

One thought on “Madelinetosh: Tosh Sock Yarn

  1. Awesome color of yarn! I was interested to hear your opinion on the yarn, I haven’t had the chance to work with any madelinetosh yarn yet, but it seems like so a nice fiber. I think this was a “change of pace”, although I love seeing your photos of projects and “hearing” your thoughts on them as well. Great job.

Comments are closed.