Camp NaNoWriMo

I know what you’re thinking. This is a knitting blog, and this is two posts in a row that have nothing to do with knitting. She’s incorrigible. I really am. But, it’s my birthday and I’ll write what I want to. Tee-hee.

Camp NaNoWriMo is coming up next week! I’m very excited. I participated twice last summer for the beta and the full camp version. It was a lot of fun and extremely stressful. I made my goals both times, but only by the skin of my teeth. I decided last time I wouldn’t do it again. So much for that idea.

For those of you who may not know what I’m talking about, Camp NaNoWriMo is the summer version of NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words in one month. To meet your goal, they suggest writing about 1667 words daily. It doesn’t seem difficult at first, not until week two when you’re scrambling for any idea of how to move forward.

I’ve found that regularly participating in the NaNoWriMo events has really helped my writing. I never go back and revise and edit my writing afterward. I do this strictly for the process (none of my ideas are ever any good anyway). The biggest improvement I’ve found is if someone asks me to write 500, 1000, 1500, or 2000 word pieces, I know I can do it and finish relatively quickly. Those word counts are nothing!

So, I’ve decided to give Camp NaNoWriMo another go. This doesn’t mean all of a sudden all of my posts will be about writing or anything. I still fully intend to keep up with my knitting and crafting projects. I’m just adding another element, one more thing to fret over daily (which I love to do!). I’m going to enact Camp Fridays starting next week, June 1st, where I’ll give you an update (thereby keeping myself focused on actually succeeding, which can be difficult with this challenge) as well as talk about the knitting or crafting I’m working on.

Any co-campers? I’d love to hear about your past NaNoWriMo experiences and cheer you on this summer if you’ll join me. Sign up here. It’s completely free and just plain fun to do.

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I’m participating in June. Next week, whoa! 🙂 Congrats to you for meeting prior Nanowrimo goals, especially ’cause I haven’t done that myself. Good luck!!

  2. Pingback: First time Camper of NaNoWriMo « IntrovertedKnitter

Comments are closed.