DIY Painted Rhinestone Bracelet

DIY Rhinestone Bracelet

I have been absolutely enamoured with the recent trend of painted rhinestone jewellery. I think it’s so much fun and a great way to incorporate colour, but it can be a bit pricey at times, depending on where you look. So, I decided I’d try my hand and make something for myself.

Last week, when my friend from work and I were hanging out, I stumbled across this magnificent, huge necklace that had painted rhinestones. This was probably the most colourful piece of jewellery I had ever seen! She and I talked about how you could probably do that yourself very easily with nail polishes. I put the idea in the back of my head for another crafting moment.

Knitting was not going to happen last night. I was fully aware of that at about 3pm at work when I could barely keep my eyes open. (Though, I still had a surprisingly productive day!) Somehow, I decided I still wanted to make something, just nothing very labor intensive. The nail polish craft idea instantly popped in my head.

I had these rhinestone bits you connect together that I bought at Michaels ages ago. I got out my jewellery making supplies and attached all the pieces. I really love different metal colours together, so you’ll notice that no metal piece matches another, from the chain holding things together to the clasp. I think it makes the whole thing pop a bit more.

Then, I hit up my nail polish collection. No neons, sigh! I would’ve loved to make the bracelet neon, but I did have a mint, tangerine, and a very subtle light grey. I sat down, figured out a pattern (ish), and started painting.

So here’s how you do it, should you be so inclined.

All of the supplies for this project were found around my house. No extra expense!

What you’ll need:

Nail polish in a variety of colours (as many or as few as you want)

Top coat nail polish

Rhinestone necklace or bracelet (look for a cheap one so if you mess up, you won’t feel heartbroken)

How to do it:

(This is so simple, I almost feel silly writing it under a headline like that.)

1. Place your jewellery piece on a sheet of scrap paper or paper towel. Make sure it’s lying perfectly flat and in a place it won’t get moved around a lot.

2. After you’ve determined how you want your colours to go, place a dab of nail polish on each rhinestone. A trick, have enough on your brush so the paint rolls off a little fairly easily, but not so much that you cover the metal that holds the stone. Allow the paint to dry for 10 or so minutes. (Basically, think about how long the nail polish would take to dry on your fingernails. That’s how long you should wait.)

3. Go back for a second coat if you please. I did for the grey to make it pop out a bit more.

4. Once everything is completely dry, dab the top coat on in a similar manner. Allow it to dry and add another coat if you please.

Tah-dah! Fun jewellery!

The total cost of this would vary according to what nail polish you had and what you bought, as well as the jewellery piece, if it’s not already in your collection. I’m thinking this weekend I might go find an inexpensive necklace I could do this to, just for fun. I might also get some more vibrant, bright colours. This might also be a great addition to the Crafternoon in June a few friends and I are doing next month. It’s really easy and relatively inexpensive.

If you try this out, I’d love to see it!

