WIP: Top-Secret 2.0

Already looking a lot better this time around!

I hope everyone had a happy Mother’s Day! I have the fortune of living close enough to my mom to have gotten to spend Mother’s Day with her this weekend. We had a nice, easy couple of days just hanging out.

Saturday we went to see Dark Shadows, which was based on my Grandmother’s favourite TV show. She passed away a few Christmases ago, so I wasn’t sure how any of us would handle this. She had really been looking forward to seeing this movie. We all came out of the film just fine and with no tears.

In fact, the film was hilarious. I really enjoyed it. I wouldn’t say it was great, but it’s always fun to watch Johnny Depp in action. According to mom, who actually has seen the show versus me who has seen an episode here and there, the movie’s plot follows the show’s plot pretty well. I thought it’d be a spoof, but maybe I need to go back and catch up on a few more episodes.

Then Sunday, husband and I drove out to my parents’ house and had lunch with them. I brought along the top secret project, which even then was nearly done. After lunch, we all chatted and I knitted away.

I’ve made insane progress on this bug, at least for me. I started on Thursday last week. Since then, I’ve finished the body and one arm. You can’t see it in the picture, but he does have both antennae. With a bit of luck, I’ll finish him this evening, and he might just crawl into my coworker’s office somehow and appear in one of her chairs. I don’t know how, but these bugs can be sneaky.

I keep thinking I should start back up on some of my older WIPs, but then I just can’t bring myself to do it. I really want to make another toy, maybe even another bug, to add to the baby stash. They’re really cute and everyone seems to like them.

The other thing I have to seriously start focusing on is Christmas. More specifically, I need to buckle down on those Christmas stockings mom requested. I have 4 for the immediate family and possibly 2 for my cousin and her to-be husband (who will be her husband in just a couple weeks! So excited!). My husband suggested I might make some for our nieces and nephew as well, which makes 3 more. I really want to design at least some of them myself, so I really need to get started.

2 thoughts on “WIP: Top-Secret 2.0

  1. You are one organized lady — thinking about the Christmas gifting already! Good for you. It reminded me that if I really am going to knit socks for everyone, I best get a move on and not wait for the marathon-Olympics-coverage in August to make it happen. (I really can’t wait for the Olympics. Guilt-free TV watching +knitting time? Priceless.)

    I know there are a couple of Christmas stocking books out there — are you considering using one of those as a template?

    My husband and I are hoping to see Dark Shadows — love that Johnny Depp!

  2. I’ve been thinking about picking up a few Scandinavian-style books. I love Scandinavian knits and would love to incorporate some of those motifs in the stockings.

Comments are closed.