FO: Chadwick

Chadwick just chilling

I had my doubts. I didn’t think this day would come, the day I called Chadwick an FO. I stayed up late last night just to add the finishing touches and sew on the arms. He’s not the most handsome of devils, but he’s finished!

I nearly forgot what it was like to finish something. It’s awesome! I feel accomplished, even though he’s covered in errors. Once I embroidered that smile on, I was hooked. I liked him again. After all that endless round and round (which doesn’t make me feel too great about husband’s sweater), I’m not angry at the project anymore. He’s once again Chadwick, rather than the Bug.

I cinched in his bumps a little to accentuate, which I think helped. I messed up in the beginning, which made all my bumps look a bit wonky. I’ve also gone back and tidied up any places where the yarn pulled a hole open, not any actual holes but tension issues. Over all, I have to say I’m okay with him.

This, of course, means I’ll be returning to the shawl. I have less than 2 weeks to Mother’s Day, and I’m well over halfway done. Okay, so halfway done is now 300-odd stitches per round, which slows things down a bit. I think if I really buckle down, I’ll get it done. We’ll see. I missed her birthday!

No other crazy projects to speak of at the moment. I’m in finishing mode. Once the shawl is done, I’m going to go back to my lace socks. That should about do it for the WIPs, which means I can start a new project soon! That neon yarn is calling my name.t

3 thoughts on “FO: Chadwick

  1. “I’m not angry at the project anymore.”

    That sentence sums up how I feel about most DIY and more than a few knitting projects. The start is jubilation and sunshine and light. The middle starts to make me despair that the darn thing will ever get done. The end is usually where the project and I have a moment when we decide if we’re going to be friends. Sometimes the answer is “yes” and I’ll wear it with pride; sometimes the answer is “no” and I banish it to the depths of a Rubbermaid container.

    I love Chadwick’s little face and arms. So. Cute.

Comments are closed.