First handspun yarn

Kinky, crooked, wonky yarn, but I love it.

I did it! Well, sort of. I’m not sure if my excitement is totally appropriate considering all the kinks and unevenness. Somehow, though, I’m still pleased.

I’m not finished with the blue roving just yet. I read somewhere that when the spindle wobbles, you should unload the yarn because it’s too heavy. So, I did that and, for lack of a niddy noddy, I wrapped the yarn around the back of a kitchen chair. It worked quite well, if I do say so myself!

I’m still trying to work out how not to overspin. I’m fairly certain (but please do correct me if I’m wrong) that those kinks are where the yarn got a bit too much twist. I don’t know. I’m sure this kind of thing comes with practice. I suppose what I really want to know is how to spot that while I’m spinning. I see it when I’ve dramatically overspun, but not usually before.

Now I just have to decide what to make with all this lovely TARDIS blue.

This weekend I have a semi-busy crafting weekend planned out. For one thing, we’re celebrating mom’s birthday on Sunday. Chances of completing shawl? Slim to none. I can, though, keep at it and see how far it does get. She knows it won’t be done and even said she’d have been surprised if I had completed it. After all, she told me less than a month before her birthday that she wanted a shawl, something I’ve never tried to make before.

I’m thinking I also want to decorate our house a bit. We have an insane bookshelf brimming with oddities, which is my favorite part of the house, but then we have this huge blank white wall. Over Christmas it didn’t bother me because we had a fairly large tree we borrowed from my parents (they have so many trees!). Now, though, the wall is completely bothering me.

I’ve been thinking about making some of these yarn balls I spotted on Ruche’s blog:

I think they’re absolutely gorgeous and would make interesting 3-D art coming off the wall. It’d also be a great way to clean out some of the acrylic yarn I’m less fond of. I’m still pondering this idea. I have all the bits to make them, but I may need to convince the husband first. We’ll see.

I also want to paint my stapler. I realize how mundane and silly that just sounded, trust me. I’m just really feeling a neon vibe lately, and I’d like to extend it to my office at work. Maybe I’ll just color block an end of the stapler. I wonder what else I can cheer up a bit with a blast of color. Right now, my office looks more like a teacher’s office, with an old US map and with my lovely birch tree decals all over. So much to ponder.

I hope you all have a great weekend! It’s still craft month, remember. This weekend, do something crafty for no other reason than it’s fun! (Oh, and if you do, send me a picture! I’d love to see what you’re up to.)

2 thoughts on “First handspun yarn

  1. Your yarn looks lovely and not over twisted for a single. If you dampen it and hang it on a coat hanger in your shower, then hang a bit of weight on the bottom of the skein, when it drys you will be amazed at how even the twist will then look.

    I love the idea of turning it into one of those yarn balls. I may have to try the idea myself, since I have quite a pile of orphan single remnants in my yarn box.

    Happy crafting.

Comments are closed.