Knitting Clock

Clock knits a scarf in a year

The other day one of my friends posted on my Facebook wall about a clock that knits a scarf in a year! It knits one stitch per 30 minutes and by the end of the year, viola! You have a keepsake of that year. I don’t know if these are for sale anywhere (as the article was actually a year old by the time I got it), but if/when it is, I have to have one!

This weekend  a lot got done, which meant very little knitting got done. My iPhone died on Friday (not battery dead; dead dead), which was more of an annoyance than I ever thought possible. See, I have an app for my row counters for my projects. As I’m getting a new phone this week, I was pretty much out all of that information. I had to sit down on Saturday and figure out what row I was on for each pattern and write it down.

I kind of feel like I fell into that tech-trap. I relied so heavily on my phone that it going away was a huge deal for me. How did I become this person? I read patterns on my phone, keep track of rows, estimate my gauge, read blogs, check emails, talk with my family, play on the Internet, check the weather, check the sunrise time, take pictures, and listen to podcasts. That’s right, I’m actually going to have to suffer a very quiet 15 minute walk to work this morning. I don’t know how I’ll handle this. Anyway, I’ll stop being goofy now. I did manage to find all the rows, and I do own two clicky row counters, so I’m writing down the rows in a notepad for now.

I did get a little bit of knitting done this weekend despite it all. Once I established my row on my mom’s shawl, I was able to pick it up and do about 10 more rows before crashing last night. Saturday night and Sunday afternoon I worked on tiny things for tiny people. With an abundance of babes in my life and the possibility of more on the way, I figured I ought to start collecting a stash of ready-to-go presents for new parents and new little ones. I’m also thinking with the equally abundant amount of weddings on the way, I should start amassing things for that.

I need a stash I can grab from and go. You know, blankets, sweaters, mittens (I love baby mittens), booties and socks, and toys. That way, I don’t have to run out to the store to buy something, and the item is a little more special than a Walmart onesie (don’t get me wrong, some of those are awfully cute). I’ll share pictures of the two items I made this weekend once I have a camera again, or borrow one from the husband.

Hope you all had a great weekend and survived the dreaded time change!

One thought on “Knitting Clock

Comments are closed.