Ravelry Round-Up: Shawls

I’ve been trying to figure out which shawl/wrap I’d like to make for my mom for her birthday. The task has proven more difficult than I anticipated! I have some guidelines – machine washable, gray or neutral colors, fairly warm – but no idea on design. I’ve rounded up the top 5 designs I’m considering trying out. I’m also open to suggestions!

Hemlock Ring Blanket by Jared Flood

Though technically a blanket, I think the Hemlock Ring Blanket would work perfectly as a shawl. My mom likes to wrap up in things, so I’m betting this will work. Plus, the feather and fan detailing is gorgeous. Main concern is this is a large lace project, and my only experience in lace is the little bit I’ve done so far on my socks.

 

Cabled Button Wrap by Erika Flory

This wrap is very similar to one my mom liked at Hallmark (yeah, the card place; who knew?). It’s very basic and even the cable isn’t too complex. It’s definitely in my skill level.

 

Crystal Lake or Lacy Shawl by Lion Brand Yarn

Besides finding the name endlessly entertaining, I think this is just a beautiful shawl. Again, I’m a little worried about the lace, but I’ve never been one to stick inside my comfort zone, especially when it comes to knitting.

 

Broome Street Shawl by Lion Brand Yarn

Large yet simple and elegant. I think my mom would make good use out of this. Plus, it’s knitted in bulky, which cuts the knit time down a bit.

 

Lace Prayer Shawl by Renee Rico

This is just a lovely shawl. I love the stitch work.

 

With so many gorgeous patterns out there, it’s really difficult to settle on one. I’ve widened my yarn types to include bulky and super bulky, which in turn only widened the pattern options. These are my top 5 favorite, but I’m open to suggestions!

Hexipuffs: 9 of 500

Socks: 5 (and counting!) of 52

