New Year’s Resolutions: My Knitting Goals

Tis the season for those infamous/dreaded New Year’s Resolutions! We’ll all promise to lose weight, exercise more, spend more time with our families, manage our finances better, clean the house more often, and everything else we can think of to make ourselves overall better people this year.

I figured this would be a great time to outline my Knitting New Year’s Resolutions!

1. Socks! Now that I’ve overcome my fears of knitting in the round and knitting socks, I’ve decided I’m going to go full force on the sock front. Initially, I said I wanted to knit 52 socks (26 pairs) this year. I’m beginning to think I’m crazy. Still, I’m aiming for this goal nonetheless. I’ve almost finished sock 2, or my first (VERY first) pair of socks, so I’m actually well on my way at this point. Next, I’m going to try knitting toe-up socks, too. I have the book Socks from the Toe Up by Wendy D. Johnson, which I hope will help!

2. Christmas Stockings: This is less a New Year’s resolution than a goal that’s been requested. My mother loved the stockings I made and, as the lovely ones my grandmother knit for us are dying, she’d like me to knit up some replacements. That means I will be knitting six stockings by the end of the year!

3. My First Sweater: I’d like this to also be the year I knit my first sweater. I will be following Nina’s Design Your Own Sweater Class from Knit Picks. My husband has requested the first sweater be knit for him as a (very) belated Christmas present.

4. Stranded: I want to get really good at stranded knitting this year and explore all sorts of traditional patterns. So far, I’ve made Selbu mittens from the Rigmors Selbu Mittens, 5th Pair pattern by Rigmor Duun Grande. They’re gorgeous, but I did really mess them up. I’d like to get better at stranded and be able to successfully follow patterns. Perhaps I’ll even make sure stranded is included in all my New Year’s Resolution knitting projects?

Those are my big 4 items for this year. I’d better get to work!

