Adding to the Stash: Sugar n Cream Scrubby

Sugar 'n Cream Scrubby

During a recent trip to Michaels to pick up magnetic paper and neon-colored paints, I came across this interesting yarn. It’s called Sugar n Cream Scrubby. It has these soft ridges along the edges but is still pretty soft. Has anyone used this before?

I thought I’d just crochet up a few facial circles to try it out. I did, in that thought, overestimate my ability to crochet circles. It’s not going to happen. I may sit down tonight with my needles and knit up a few.

I like that it’s soft and washable. The colours are bright and fun, which is always a plus. The price, I don’t know. I’m a pretty cheap knitter. I got it for $3.99 (ish) for one skein of it, which is a little under 70 yards. I know for facial circles and washcloths, it really won’t take that much yardage, but it seems like a bit much for me to do regularly. I’ll use up this one, though.

Last night a friend came over to hang out. Originally, she was going to help me paint my white and grey frames with the neon paint, but I jumped the gun. By the time she got there, I’d already applied another coat of paint and washed the brushes. For lack of a better idea of something fun and crafty to do, I pulled out my remaining Kool-Aid packets and suggested we dye some yarn.

We had a blast! I divided the remaining Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool into three batches, slightly unevenly. I quickly washed up a few microwave safe bowls (I’d been making brownies for the husband to take to work today), and we got started!

I’ll share pictures of these once the yarn has dried. The colours are amazing and pretty unexpected. One we used lemon-lime and lemon packets. It’s a bright green. Another, I combined two packets of grape. The colour is almost eggplant, it’s such a deep hue. I thought it’d be brighter than it turned out, but I really like it’s richness.

The other, well, let’s just say I decided to experiment a little. The remaining colours were grape, orange, and lemon. I poured them all in. A normal person, like my friend, would immediately realise this would result in a brown; she even explained to me why it would become brown. Not me. I had no idea what was going to happen, and it was absolutely thrilling. The colour, as she expected, was brown, but it’s more than that. There’s some purple in it as well, just a hint. It’s fascinating. I can’t wait until it’s dry so I can see the whole thing.

This weekend, I’m working on a project tomorrow morning, knitting on the bug (Chadwick’s new nickname), and trying to figure out how I want to decorate that huge, blank wall. Bright frames are only step one. Oh, and Sunday, I’m hanging out with my friend again. We’re going to see Hunger Games. I’ve neither read the book nor seen the movie, so I have no idea what to expect. Anyone else seen it?

2 thoughts on “Adding to the Stash: Sugar n Cream Scrubby

  1. I bought some (pink/like above) yesterday. I am fiddling around with it tonight. I made little scrubbies with it (crochet) and I trimmed them with plastic Needloft plastic yarn. I also knitted a small square to use with washing dishes, but I am wondering how it’ll wash. Directions say to wash with delicate cycle. So, am wondering if they may unravel. The stuff kinda’ intrigues me!

    • Let me know how it goes! I’m still trying to get the crocheting part down right, so I haven’t gotten very far.

Leave a Reply

