Chadwick: The Super Secret Project

Almost halfway done with the super secret project.

I have been working on a super top secret project the last couple of days. I can’t share all the specifics just yet, but here’s the sneak peek.

I can’t tell you what he’s for, but this is Chadwick the Shakespearean Caterpillar by Rebecca Danger. He’s absolutely adorable, and I have to admit, a little bigger in person than I anticipated. He seemed perfect for the plan, which will be complete in May.

I haven’t decided yet if this will be the actual project or just a test run. I’m nearly halfway done after two days, and I have until late April to complete him. The first go-around is just a bit wonky. I think I should’ve gone down at least one more size in needles, for one thing. The bumps don’t seem to be very even. One and three are close, but two is 2 rows longer.

He’s currently being made of Sugar n Cream, which is cotton. I’ve figured on a small scale, cotton’s not so bad. At least it’s very washable. I don’t know whose home he’s going to, so washable is a big plus.

If I do redo him, I’m wondering about trying some wool super wash. Like I said, washable is important. Babies or pets could be all over this thing, potentially. Another benefit of the Sugar n Cream is it was already in my stash. I don’t have any wool super wash of any kind (except for the two Madeline Tosh yarns I have, which will not be for this project). Hm. I’m not sure.

He and the shawl will be my joint projects to finish as both are due by May. I’m over halfway with the feather and fan chart, so I’m getting close. I hope it turns out well in the end. I’m as new to blocking as I am to lace.

Leave a Reply

